top of page
Search
  • michaelthursby

When in Rome.

Updated: Jan 6, 2023

Here we go.


For those of you who know me, writing down my thoughts is the best way that I can communicate. (and communication is the key to life). I struggle when I can’t write it down and often ramble…well I’ll probably ramble here too, but I’m allowed to because I have so many thoughts in my mind. Essentially this is a mind dump. Why? Because I don’t want to forget. I know I’ve had experiences as a band director in my time teaching and they come and then go. I won’t forget them, but by writing this down I will remember how special it was one more time (cue the waterworks already).


We went to Rome. I don’t have a lot of pictures of me there (I know the students have a ton, but I was busy capturing them)


For the second time in a year, I had the opportunity to travel to Rome, but this time it was with 42 students who I am so extremely grateful for. The opportunity to share this experience with them was something I will never forget. To see their eyes as we visited some incredibly historic places and to feel their energy as we approached the ‘Spanish Steps’ still gives me chills. Here is a short recap of my memories and our trip.


The flight out to Rome went essentially without any issues (to be truthful the WHOLE trip we had no major issues – which was a blessing after the earthquakes in Puerto Rico). We arrived in Rome tired, but ready. The first night once the sleep wore off the smiles, laughter, and energy was so incredible. Our first meal together was delicious at the entertainment the ‘Tangara Caffe Concerto Restaurant’ was incredible. I don’t know that I’ve seen more smiles after that little sleep.


The next day we immediately saw some of the most incredible places in Rome. Again, this time I just watched faces. I did that a lot on this trip. When we arrived at the Colossuem it was clear that we had created some truly life changing experiences. We visited the Roman Forum and took some additional tours, but it was again at dinner where I truly got the feels. The students just connected in a special way to create their own pizzas and such special memories together. I will remember these ‘family meals’ for the rest of my life. The conversations and connections created while visiting with each student was special. The inside jokes that will live forever and the snapchat filtered photos will never be replaced.


Pompeii – woof. I got emotional at the beginning because that place is just special and as a parent (and band director) to realize again that we are so fortunate to have what we have hits the feels – to remember that it all could be taken away in an instant hits the feels even more. But again I took the time to see it through the eyes of the students. Really that’s all I can say, about Pompeii. Another lovely dinner and then we prepared to share our music with Italy.


This is where it starts to become more of a blur for me. Frascati went by a little too fast – but we had some of the best performances that this band has had. They played with energy, but in control. They wowed the audience, but played with balance and intonation. Just incredible musicianship that I am so proud of. Performing with the high school students in Frascati was so cool because of the massiveness (not sure if that’s a word) and then coming back on for an encore in front of that crowd was the icing on the cake. I hope that some day soon we'll be able to share more pictures and videos from these performances, but there are a few 'live-streams' on our band Facebook page.


New Years Eve…well it wasn’t perfect. But, I don’t want to forget it. We had a traditional Scandinavian new years eve dinner – complete with octopus, raw beef, and seafood lasagna. You know what…it wasn’t perfect, but the students won’t forget it. They tried some of the food (most of them) and they still have the memories. I took a nice long walk with our dear friend Federico to find pizza and almost got hit by multiple fireworks, but we’ll never forget it. You know what I’ll truly remember forever (crying again) not the dinner – but the fireworks on the roof at New Years. I stood back and watched our students celebrate together. I watched them hug each other and I watched them grow even closer. I watched the fireworks that surrounded that beautiful city and I watched them experience this. It wasn’t perfect – but life isn’t perfect. Sometimes things go wrong and then we come together – we did that night.


New Years Day. We all made it ON TIME to the bus. Even after a night of celebrating (some more than others) – we made it on time. The additional stop of ‘Christmas World’ was so great. We performed, explored, and watched the incredible final performance of the wonderful musicians/dancers in this place. It was also just so cool again to sit back and watch the students ice skate (in Italy of all places) 😊 The parade…oh many the parade. Yet again I don’t know if I have seen our students rise to a performance like this. They were getting a little tired from the morning and the late night before, but they rose to the occasion and performed so well in this parade. As the parade slowly but surely moved along – start and stop and start and stop we approached the ‘Spanish Steps’ one more time. The number of people took my breath away. I tried to high five and hug as many of them as possible even during the parade, because it was just a special moment. The videos will never do it justice and I’m so glad I got to live it in real time with those very special human beings.


One final day before I try to wrap this up. The Vatican. Another day with a few obstacles because of the death of the Pope. But, we did it. We saw the Sistine Chapel, which is just wow. I can’t believe how much art is in one place. We also made it through together to pay our respects to the Pope. Not an experience I was expecting to share with our students, but we did it. I’m glad I could provide that for all and especially those who are Catholic. It really isn’t about religion to me, but giving the students opportunities and experiences. Was it stressful, were there a lot of people, was there a snafu – yes. But the experience happened and it will forever be in our memories.


We had one final family meal together and again the smiles. The joy. The happiness of just being together. The food was amazing, but the company just made it. The cheers of Ole' as we celebrated all who have helped make this experience possible and the opportunity to hug each one of the people just one more time. The memories will live forever.


Ok, ok. Wrap it up – because I know that many haven’t read this far.


What I will remember most about this trip is two things. 1. Watching our students, watching these wonderful people (that I get to call students) – they were incredible. They were respectful, they were punctual (most of the time), they were inspirational, and they made bonds that will last forever. I just can’t put that into words and I won’t try to. I don’t need to because I’ll remember it for the rest of my life. I hope to provide more experiences like this – but for now I’ll reflect on these memories every day.


2. (this one is selfish) I will never forget having the opportunity to share this stage with my wife. We performed together in drum corps, but it wasn’t the same because we weren’t at this stage of our lives. I watched her perform and I watched her smile. I watched her excellence, grace, and beauty – these are memories I will cherish forever.


As I told our students more than once (but I need to say it again) – this was the ONLY time this will happen. This was the ONLY time we will be together in Rome and in those places. You may visit them again, but it will never be exactly the same as what we just did. I will never forget it, ever. I am so glad I got to do this with every single one of the 42, with Sarah, with Federico, with Alfredo, and with Ela.


My life is changed and I am blessed.


We have completed another Big Idea in the real WORLD and now we can turn the page and start to write the next chapter. On the shoulders of giants (our alumni, our fans, our donors, and all who have played a role in this growth) the Machine was born. The foundation is huge and it will allow us to move forward into the future for many many more 'Big-Ideas' and 'Real-World' experiences. It's great to be a Maverick!!!

127 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page