top of page
Search
  • michaelthursby

History was made and it was special.

History.

 

I remember early on in my time in Mankato I was in a meeting with our VP for University Advancement, Kent Stanley. He had a message of ‘First, Best, Only’ pictured near his desk. I took that message wrote it down on a piece of paper and it has been in my office since that day. On Thursday we made history as a program. To my knowledge we were the FIRST band of our kind to perform at the MMEA Midwinter Convention. And while history was also made elsewhere that day – it was made in Minneapolis too.

 

But before I can get there, we need to hit the rewind button.

 

Let’s go back 13 months.

 

My last blog post was a pouring out of emotions and memories following our adventures in Rome. Little did I know this was just the beginning of what would be a rollercoaster ride that I can’t believe is over (or is it…playoff season is coming). Following our trip to Rome we had a ‘normal’ spring semester, but it was anything but normal. We had another NCAA hockey trip and some great fun in pep band land. We recorded another video and seriously started prep to celebrate 10 years as a program. One thing that sticks out was the departure of a friend in our head hockey coach. This change was something I haven’t experienced, but I think it captures some important emotions. Our program has gone through some significant change, but there has also been a sense of consistency through my time in Mankato. So here we go…the journey…real, raw, and emotional.

 

This summer marked my official return to the 77 Lancers organization (even though I never really left). As a board member and percussion staff member. I am so glad to be able to give back to this organization and work beside my wife and some incredible people. It has given me an opportunity to strengthen relationships and learn from some incredible peers. There are too many summer memories to write about and that really isn’t the purpose of this, but between baseball and band #TeamThursby had an incredible summer all while we prepared for history.

 

This fall was special. We knew that we would have the largest band we have had in Mankato, but that wasn’t why it was special. The first of three life-changing band related events happened. Our fall was focused on the relationships created through the last 10 years+. I am thankful for the people I have met and the students who have created a Machine. On homecoming this year, we celebrated that. We welcomed back family to perform alongside the current Mav Machine in our production of ‘Home.’ The faces, the memories, the smiles, they were special. I never fully appreciated my college years and the connections made both at the University of Iowa and in drum corps, but now I see those connections for my students, and I am thankful to have a space to give this to them. Homecoming is always special but this year we took it to new heights.

 

Just 13 days later our lives changed forever. #TeamThursby welcomed Tripp Thomas Thursby into the world and the bright blue-eyed boy stole all of our hearts. He truly is a blessing. While the sleep patterns are different, the laundry piles have increased, and the diaper changing stage is messy – we are in love. During this period of time, I stopped doing band, which was so important. I took the time and allowed the students to lead. They did so without hesitation and the Machine rolled on. Our Maverick family surrounded us (even with an awesome shout out at one of the Men’s hockey games – thanks TJ you’re the best!). While this post is about band, it needs to be said that being a father is my life. Sharing experiences with my three sons will always be at the center of who I am.

 

With homecoming wrapped we quickly turned the page to focus on another big-time performance, this time in Chicago. We took our performance ‘Home’ on the road for the Chicago Thanksgiving Day parade. Normally on Thanksgiving I would have a turkey on my smoker for family, but this year we hit the road instead. It was strange, but incredible. We had deep dish pizza with the sauce on top and it was delicious! Yet again the students stepped up to the plate and represented our university on a national stage. The opportunities we have had together over the last 13 months were special. I’ll never forget the moments in Chicago. Not being able to hear the battery percussion from the front of the band, the massive crowds, enjoying a meal with Carter after the parade, and of course the food poisoning that followed while the band enjoyed a meal at the Hard Rock Café. Just blessed to relive this memory in my head and write it down.

 

Following the parade we again took a break, but very quickly again turned the page. I don’t like comparing events or performances because each one is unique and special in their own way, but the final of three big things will never leave me. We returned for our spring semester and hit the ground running immediately. The Machine had been selected to perform at the MMEA (Minnesota Music Educators) Midwinter Convention. For many this is a career goal. For me and the Machine it was an opportunity to shake things up or to #ChangeTheGame. It wasn’t about me; it was about us. Together using recordings from the past, we were selected ad without the past 10 years it wouldn’t have happened. To my knowledge it was one of the first times a ‘marching band’ had been selected for this event and we wanted to do it our way. We wanted to use our platform to push for change and we did.

 

The students got to work right away on four new pieces of music that weren’t in our fall catalog. We learned and listened together to create a program that challenged us in almost every way. It was fast and furious with just one rehearsal a week, but they worked. They put in so much time and energy to fulfill a vision. On top of that we still had our normal semester happening – basketball doubleheaders and hockey weekends. I just can’t put into words how impressed I was with them to do so much in so little time. Speaking of time, I can’t believe it’s over. The Sunday prior to our MMEA performance we did a preview show. We had a HUGE crowd that included many of our student athletes, coaches, and those from Maverick Athletics – they showed up to support us the way we show up to support them – special. Without our guest artists it gave me a chance to play drums with the band which is something I just don’t do enough. At the end of that informance I purposefully ran ‘Shofukan’ one more time, so I had a chance to play with them one, more, time. It was special, they are special.

 

On the Wednesday prior to our performance, we had a meeting and then I got on the road to set up our booth in the exhibit hall. Of course, I got 10 minutes out of town to realize that I had forgotten one piece of the booth stuff, so I was delayed. When I got back on the road the snowstorm hit. White out conditions and a terrible drive up 169 made my night interesting, but I made it. I’ll admit I slept restlessly that night even though I didn’t have to wake up for diaper duty and I knew the next day would be smooth. On Thursday I woke up, worked out, and then hit the exhibit hall for a full day of representing MSU-Mankato. The whole time my mind was thinking through logistics since I wasn’t in Mankato with my students as they traveled. Again, the students rose to the occasion, and we arrived with all of the equipment that we needed…almost on time. The unloading process was fast and furious, but we did it. We had a quick sound check with our guest artists and then the performance. It was a blur. The space was small, and it was loud, but it was a blur. I honestly still can’t believe it’s over. I want to go back a relive the moments, but I have to wait for videos to be edited and pictures to be sent. Together we put in so much work for 40 minutes of music together. I hope that the students know that what they did was special. I try to tell them, but I think they may have heard that from me too many times this last 13 months.

 

At this point, I’m not really sure I have much more to say. I wasn’t going to fully turn the page for two weeks, but that lasted until this weekend when my wife and I took the time to watch two incredible movies which sparked my passion to look ahead. Let me tell you, next year will be something different from Mankato.

 

I am grateful to every single soul who has helped us get to this place. I am thankful, I am lucky, and I am more than blessed. I hope that reading this provides you an insight into what we do in Mankato – but really, selfishly, it’s for me. For when the memories fade as time passes. This will serve not only as a way to put closure on some special moments, but also as an opportunity for me to remember them even as we begin to turn the page.

 

Be well and thank YOU for your impact on me, my family, and the Maverick Machine.

 

(Sarah if you’re reading this – I’m sorry for the poor grammar and number of hyphens used)



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page